avatarI have the most perfect, beautiful pair of shoes in my closet right now… but I’ve never worn them out of the house. They’re by Marc Jacobs, a light pink/tan color and satin. The boots go to low-calf, have a gold leather covered 4 inch heel and lace up the front. They’re dripping glamour and feel fine on, the only problem is… I cannot put together even the idea of an outfit to wear them with! Maybe we can help each other?

Marc jacobs Edited: For those who asked, here is a picture of the Marc Jacobs boots!” (The heel is more metallic gold in person though).

This spring you should definitely find yourself a maxi dress. The top can have straps, a halter, whatever, just make sure the bottom skims your ankles. And if you want to go totally trendy, as Isaac Mizrahi says, look for flower print fabrics. Don’t worry, you’re not going to have the same problem I have – I’ll tell you exactly what shoes you should wear with that outfit too!

If you’re short or don’t want to take the time to get your dress hemmed, you may want to try some tall strappy sandals. The shoes below by BCBG Paris come in a bunch of colors so you’re sure to find one that’ll accent a little bit of whatever your dress looks like. Plus the woven wedge is a nice new take on last year’s espadrille craze – look for more interesting wedge weaves in spring collections (trust me!). Or, check out the Michael by Michael Kors heels beside them with a beautiful wooden heel to channel some of those new 70s-inspired vibes that are going around (don’t believe me? SaksFifthAvenue.com has a whole online showcase about it).

BCBG Paris Dobee Michael Kors Alderwood Left to right: BCBG Paris white and silver leather Dobee wedges, Michael by Michael Kors dark brown Alderwood Braided Sling sandals.

If you’re tall or your dress falls to the perfect length when you put it on (p.s. I hate you), try some gladiator flats like these ones by Steve Madden (I know I’ve shown them before, if you’ve ready my other posts, but I just adore them). And, especially if you do get a flowery dress, the slightly tough look of something like these sandals will anchor your look down a bit. For a more plain dress choice, don’t be afraid to add a little flash to your toes with a bright color like these fuchsia flats below by Sigerson Morrison.

Steve Madden gladiator sigerson morrison Left to right: Steve Madden black trinnity gladiator flats, Sigerson Morrison fuchsia suede ballet flats.

Don’t forget to pass along the suggestions for outfits to go with my boots by commenting!

