avatar

THE UPDATES KEEP COMING! 10/8/08– Lucky Magazine’s November issue (page 88) featured a section about heel hardware; they wrote: “metal detailing gives even the simplest heels an unexpectedly glamorous spin”… exactly what I was talking about down below above the first set of pictures! (and yeah, they pictured a Tory Burch pair too). Remember you heard it here first back in July!

UPDATE 9/3/08 – My pick below of the Jessica Simpson “Fox” ankle boots was also just ranked as The #1 Top Bootie for Fall by About.com: Shoes!! I guess great minds think alike.

Harper’s BazaarInstant Chic section for July (which means fashion for Sept/Oct) highlighted two fall shoe trends that are worth stopping here to read about: ankle boots (in case you thought that trend was over, you were mistaken!) and gold wedge sandals, specifically when worn with dark, opaque tights! As you may know from past blogs, I fully support tights with open toes, so that this is being mentioned as a major trend I find super exciting.

You’ve probably seen all the look a-like booties by now (or shoeties – not a fan of that term), they’re solid black leather or suede with a sharp 4 inch heel and hit right below the ankle. I was crazy about them when they were fresh, but now? Yawn. Still, I want to wear booties (major trends are my playground) but it’s going to need a nice twist to snare me now. So in that vein, I have some less generic (but no less fabulous) ideas for you below.

This Coach version (my first pick below) may be an unexpected bootie style you never thought to try: faux fur trim and a lace-up front. The only lace-up’s I’ve seen recently are spectator, menswear-inspired styles, so an alternate lace-up style is fresh looking. Even better though, is the fact that these boots walk straight into winter equally as chic. Now my second choice may or may not be for you, but there have been a lot of designers dabbling in moccasins styles off and on the past few seasons (Marc by Marc Jacobs, for instance). So if you pick up on it now, once it becomes a full blown style, you’ll be ahead of the game! (Luckily, the shoes are fashion-forward now too).

I love the slouchy business on these Steve Madden booties in my third spot. They would look so “cool urban hippie” paired with a lightweight dress (maybe a solid color in silk with a knit cardigan thrown over the top?). And last, don’t those shiny buttons just pop?! But I especially love these patent Jessica Simpson booties because of the silver heel (Did you notice Anne Hathaway’s shiny gold heel tips flashing from below her pant hems in Get Smart? I think they might have been these Tory Burch heels). Shiny heel tips are popping up (or should I say popping out?) all over the city.

Coach Jaime Booties Nine West Time Flies
Steve Madden SH101 Jessica Simpson Fox Pump

Don’t worry, I’ve also got some cute picks for Bazaar’s second fall trend: gold wedges! And mine all have an interesting element – why go for basic? The Carlos Santana wedges below have a clear lucite heel that I am completely crazy for. I’ve been seeing clear lucite heels (or tinted lucite, like the Jimmy Choo heels here) more and more. The next pair I selected, by Betsey Johnson, have a fun cut out in the center of the wedge, not to mention the flash of silver snake-embossed leather on the heel surrounded by all that gold. It really draws attention to the hole and adds negative space, like the heel is somehow open there too (I mean it makes it look like a blocky “c” shaped heel, if that description only made sense to me).

Last, a tall faux wedge by DKNY. You can get a little confused with classifying these types of shoes: if you’re describing a wedge heel as being better to walk in because there’s more surface area touching the ground than something the size of a pencil eraser, then these aren’t wedges. But, if a wedge is just a heel connected to the opposite end of the shoe underneath the arch, then they are. I think both are correct so I call them faux wedges and they earn a spot here! And with that super bright gold color, these DKNY’s would look super hot with black footed tights.

Carlos Santana Chisel Betsey Johnson Marilee DKNY gold sandals
